Confessions of a Pluviophile☔

Rain is liquid water in the form of droplets that have condensed from atmospheric water vapour and then precipitated

This is what science says. These explanations doesn’t matter to me because it is a phenomenan which is pure and serene. Concepts of condensation or evaporation is not at all a matter of fact. What matters is the cascading joy it brings!!

Grey clouds come like a giant airships and create a dusk like morning in the day time. Peacock spread their feathers and starts dancing in the anticipation of rain. (Unfortunately I haven’t seen it yet) The stage is all set. Then it starts raining. Tiny drpos dripping from the boundless sky. The most adorable part is even when it leaves, rainbow emerges far beyond our eyesight.

Rain can brought forth a massive wave of nostalgia

The first thing I remember is those paper boats I used to sailed in the rivulets carved by it. Other one I really adored is the petrichor, the earthly fragrance unbosoming the thought of turning back time between playful stomping and dancing on water puddles. I used to drench in the rain until parents would come and yell at me to get back inside. How strange is that we hold on to the pieces while we wait for our future? May be these rains made our childhood happy and blithe…

In this rainy season when memories of rain tugged me I looked back to a time when I often didn’t take umbrella on my way to school. (May be I am ready to sit with my wet clothes on but drying umbrella in classroom is the most annoying thing for me) The rain would wet us. That delightful walks with our buddies was truly a bliss. Coming back to home with a group of four in a single umbrella and taunting the scared souls to get wet who took refuge beneath trees and roadside shops is still in my memory. 

Rain on a misty morning in which our bums find reasonable excuse to hunker down and busy ourselves under our duvet covers. The most irritating was the school days during monsoon. I would grumply ask for 5 more minutes of sleep.(even now it is same but the difference is today I put my mobile into snooze mode). 

There is always certain calmness that comes with rainfall. Maybe it’s a literal cleansing of water falling from the sky or the pure white noise of rain.

Have you ever felt the rain? It’s not drenching always. Go outside when it rains. Open your hands and welcome every droplets. As the raindrops trickles through your face and spatter aimlessly down, close your eyes and listen to the silence of rain. You will feel like baptized with millions of droplets falling gently like feathers. And look around the plants dancing with elegance and hear the earth singing a serenade of thanks. This is how we feel rain. A pleasant and blissful experience. 

While I am enjoying it not once did the never ending to-do list haunts my brain. Instead it brought up a flood of childhood memories which are my fondest. It can never wash out our worries. But can keep it in a pause mode. We all live in such constant that we are rarely allow ourselves to take a deep breath and feel something. So cherish every rainy season and enjoy it’s every moment to the fullest. 

On a recent rainy day however, just as I was being drawn into my past (as usual) I was quickly pulled back to the present by those around me- some kids!! I smiled to myself. They have had not the chance to recollect such memories yet, but I know one day they will be going to have. Because this is happening in a loop from a long since. To them I am not a kid. But little did they know that I too wanted to join them and dance like a lunatic.

I am just a mature one (wishing​ to be a kid again) who realizes that for all the happiness and melancholy of life’s past nothing compares to the joy of rain. Here I’m hoping that those kids will look back on the rainy days they spent and cooped up at home and really feel the rain. 

Maybe rainy days compel us to tie together strings of time that appear fragmented, but are really just one long line of experiences that shape us into who we are and who we want to be. And in so doing, prepare us to become sources of light and warmth for the good of others (like our families) on — quite ironically — their own dark and gloomy days.

As with all rainy days, the clouds eventually disperse and the sun eventually peeks through again. When that happens, it usually signals the return of the daily grind: school/work or errands social obligations​ or whatever it is. But that shouldn’t stop us from appreciating the lesson of rainy days: that everyday is an opportunity to create positive, loving memories in service to others — a lesson that can be applied “come rain or shine”.

Author:

Shy, reticent girl who would rather prefer lunch with family than go to a gym, pluviophile who loves to be with nature all the while.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Pluviophile☔

  1. Thank you…
    ഇത് വായിച്ചപ്പോൾ മഴയെ നമ്മൾ എത്രമാത്രം സ്നേഹിക്കുകേം പ്രണയിക്കുകേം ഉണ്ടെന്ന് മനസിലായി.. കുട്ടിക്കാലത്തെ ഓരോ നിമിഷങ്ങളും കടന്നുപോയ പോലെ…..😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

